Stevie O’Connor, Author of In a Mirror City

Waking Writer

Stevie O’Connor, science fiction author and recent winner of Waking Writer’s Writing Prompt Contest, sat down to discuss writing and her latest novel. 

When and why did you begin writing?

As a young child, I started writing ghost stories, and the teachers would read them out to the class. Then, I won the Edward Burne-Jones Award for Literature when I was fifteen. I always had my head in a book or was dreaming up stories. Writing is an intuitive and instinctive process for me.

What have you written so far?

In A Mirror City, Under the Stones, Carmelita de Rosa.

Stevie O'Connor book cover2

Do you work to an outline or plot sketch, or do you prefer to let a general idea guide your writing?

In A Mirror City and Carmelita de Rosa were written on the fly. I wanted to let the characters and plots develop themselves, and also…

View original post 310 more words

Author: stevieoconnorblog

I’ve got gypsy blood. At school, they used to read my ghost stories out to the class and my writing just carried on from there. I live in England, but I dream of moving to Iceland, I think I could do some good writing there. When I was little, I knew that there was something magical about words. I was in awe of the library and the books appeared as infinite as stars, each with a different story or world. I suppose that in some way, these stories of mine are versions of worlds. Except the characters have become quite real to me now; they have their own idiosyncrasies and dispositions and quite frankly, walk around a novel like they own the place. It's like they're letting ME in.

Leave a Reply

